Brett DeWitt

Brett DeWitt
Contact Brett
  • (336) 218-6466
  • 2303 W Meadowview Rd., Ste. 100
    Greensboro, NC 27410
  • PO Box 39270
    Greensboro, NC 27438

Born in Greensboro, NC, Brett’s first job was as a movie theater usher at age sixteen. Brett continued to work in several industries while also staying active in service clubs, marching alto-saxophone in band, and swimming throughout high school and college.

Brett developed his writing at UNC’s school of Journalism and Mass Communication. There, a media law course sparked Brett’s interest in legal studies. Before Brett earned his Juris Doctorate, he obtained his paralegal certification after working as a project manager.

At Elon Law, Brett maintained high grades while assuming leadership roles such as Chair of the Honor Council and Managing Editor of the Law Review. He took time to serve the school and local community through programs such as Innocence Project and the Humanitarian Immigration Law Clinic.

Brett continues his involvement in the local community through volunteer efforts with Elon Law and the Greensboro Bar Association. He enjoys spending his free time staying physically active outdoors, trying new recipes, attending concerts, taking in a movie, or putting together the occasional Lego set.


High School: Lucy C. Ragsdale High School; Jamestown, NC (2000)
Undergraduate: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (B.A., Journalism and Mass Communication, 2004)
Law School: Elon University School of Law; Greensboro, NC (cum laude, 2013)

Memberships and Admissions

North Carolina State Bar (Admitted 2013)
Federal District Court – Middle District of North Carolina (Admitted 2013)
Greensboro Bar Association (Member since 2013)
Guilford County Inn of Court (Member since 2014)
North Carolina Paralegal Certification (2009 – 2013)

Honors and Awards

Elon University School of Law – Distinguished Service to the Law School Award (2013)

Leadership Positions

Elon Law Review – Managing Editor (2012-2013)
Elon University School of Law – Honor Council Chair (2013); Vice-Chair (2012)